Posted in Book Reviews

City of wishes: A Cinderella Retelling

City of Wishes is a series by Rachel Morgan, retelling the old story of Cinderella. In this world, there are four major races: Fairies, the strongest, vampires, shifters, and humans. Elle is a human, the lowest of the low, living with her stepmother and two stepsisters, who are fairies. The stepmother had enslaved Elle after her father died, just like the whole world enslave humans, simply because humans didn’t have magic. Elle has magic, though not magic which is known about: she can erase memories. Her stepmother knows this full well, and uses Elle in her schemes to get money. Elle also uses her ability to get essence, so she could buy a wish, and set herself free. She is not just doing it for herself, also for her younger stepsister, who lives in fear of her mother’s punishments. This series has six books in it, each filled with magic and fantasy. Just like in the original story of Cinderella, there is a stepmother, a godmother, and a prince charming.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s